The History of Flanesford Priory
Flanesford Priory is an historical building mentioned in the Domesday Book and was established in 1346 by Sir Richard John Talbot, Lord of Goodrich Castle. The Priory was dedicated to St John the Baptist and housed an Order of Augustinian Monks. Sir Richard Talbot died at Goodrich Castle on October 23rd, 1356 and was buried at Flanesford Priory.
The Priory suffered badly in the years of the Black Death and as such only supported two or three canons, a fraction of the thirteen it could house. Being weakened by the plague, Flanesford Priory was dissolved in 1537 becoming one of the first houses in Herefordshire to succumb during the enforcement of the Dissolution of Monastries Act. After the Dissolution in the reign of Henry VIII, ownership passed to George Talbot, the 6th Earl of Shrewsbury, who was granted title for “one twentieth” of a Knights Fee.
George Talbot died in 1590 but was succeeded by his son Gilbert who died in 1616 without a male heir. It was at this time that the Priory buildings were gradually adapted into farm buildings and used as such until, in 1980, they were lovingly converted into stunning self-catering holiday apartments
Over the years the buildings have changed little from the outside with respectful and complimentary alterations being made behind the thick stone walls, which has allowed the history to remain and speak for itself.